date_range Published 24 Aug 2018

Basketball Otago celebrated a successful 2018 Representative Season for the U15 to U23 teams last night.

A special thanks to the Prizegiving committee members Rochelle Wilson, Jan Shriffer, Justin Ludlow and Glenda Kaan for their efforts.  Thanks to all BBO Life Members, Board Member and Patrons who were able to make the event.  A huge thank you to Angela Ruske for the photos and to Establo Alpacas for sponsoring the food.  Thank you to the Edgar Centre staff for the venue, setup and catering.

A special thanks to former Otago Rep. Sam Timmins who opened the event with a warm welcome.  Thank you to Gavin Briggs and Nicole Ruske for sharing some of their recent basketball success with us.

A list of the players and staff of all teams can be found here.  

Photos link.

Award winners are listed below.

Under 15 Boy’s Development Team

Endeavour - Bronson Monga

Most Improved - Beau Lundy


Under 15 Boy’s B Team

Endeavour - Ioane Iaseto

Most Improved - Will Andrews


U15 Boy’s National’s Team

Endeavour - Tapuvae Faitonu

Most Improved - Lachie Cameron

Most Valuable Player - Hamish Faulks


U15 Girl’s B Team

Endeavour - Sophia Tutty

Most Improved - Zoe Melville


Under 15 Girl’s National’s Team

Endeavour - Danni Thomson

Most Improved - Abby Harris

Most Valuable Player - Libby Briggs

Nationals All Tournament Team - Libby Briggs


Under 17 Boy’s B Team

Endeavour - Gabe Gallagher

Most Improved - Rikki Kerr


Under 17 Boy’s Nationals Team

Endeavour - Benji Freeman

Most Improved - Shaq Berwick

Most Valuable Player - Mike Ruske

Nationals All Tournament Team - Mike Ruske


Under 17 Girl’s National’s Team

Endeavour - Annabelle Ring

Most Improved - Kyra McEntyre

Most Valuable Player - Hanna Matehaere


Under 19 B Men’s Team

Endeavour - Xavier Herbert

Most Improved - Nga Cruden


U19 Men’s National’s Team

Endeavour - Alex Byars

Most Improved - George Bright

Most Valuable Player - Nathan Hanna


U19 Women’s Southern Zone Team

Endeavour - Alana Wouters

Most Improved - Kendra Robinson

Most Valuable Player - Olivia O’Neill


U23 Men’s National’s Team

Endeavour - Ben Ross

Most Valuable Player - Conor Coll


U23 Women’s National’s Team

Endeavour - Brittany Richards

Most Valuable Player - Hannah Matehaere


Special Awards

NZ Staff

Gavin Briggs - Junior Tall Blacks Head Coach, Asia Championships Silver Medalist

Brent Matehaere - NZ Under 15 Boy’s Assistant Coach, Oceania Championships December 2018

Glenda Kaan - NZ Under 15 Girl’s Head Manager, Oceania Championships December 2018

Natalie Visger - NZ Under 15 Girl’s Head Coach, Oceania Championships December 2018


Blues Awards

Bronze (NZ Under 14 Melbourne Tour)

Angus Cameron

Jacob Waide


Gold (NZ Junior and National Team)

Nathan Hanna - Junior Tall Blacks Asia Championships Silver Medalist

Nicole Ruske - Tall Ferns Williams Jones Cup Gold Medalist


David Rout Team of the Year Award

U17 Boy’s National’s Team

6th Place from 19 at Nationals


John Paul Coach of the Year Award

Dean Ruske - Under 17 Boys National’s Team 6th place


The Lois Muir Family Shield for Outstanding Achievement

Otago Gold Rush - WBC Regular and Finals Champions


The Torrance Long Service Award

(5 Years of Consecutive Service)

Brent Matehaere

Kyle Cameron


Gary Smyth Services to Basketball Award

Jan Schriffer