date_range Published 27 Aug 2019

Basketball Otago celebrated a successful 2019 Representative Season for the U15 to U23 teams on the 22nd of August in the Harbour View Lounge at the Edgar Centre.

A special thanks to the Prizegiving committee members Jan Shriffer, Rochelle Wilson, Greg Brockbank and Justin Ludlow for their efforts.  Thanks to all BBO Life Members, Board Member and Patrons who were able to make the event.  A huge thank you to Angela Ruske for the photos. Thank you to the Edgar Centre staff for the venue, setup and catering.

A special thanks to Basketball New Zealand Hall of Fame Inductee, Dame Lois Muir who opened the event with a warm welcome.  Thank you to local college athletes Brittany and Zoe Richards for sharing some of their recent basketball success with us.

A list of the players and staff of all teams can be found here.  MVP trophies, a list of awards winners, and the 1958 NZ Tall Ferns Team of the Year plaque and team photo can be found on display outside the BBO office on the east wall of the hall way to the arena.

Photos link.

Team and Staff Lists

Award winners are listed below.

Team Awards

U15 Boy’s Development Team

Most Improved - Corey Gulliver

Endeavour - Jacoby Hooper

U15 Boy’s B Team

Most Improved - Will Coggan

Endeavour - Caleb Forde

U15 Boy’s National’s Team

Most Improved - Moke Elone

Endeavour - Max O’Connor

MVP - George Grant

U15 Girl’s B Team

Most Improved - Brenna Lyons

Endeavour - Amelia Loudon

U15 Girl’s National’s Team

Most Improved - Tessa Milton

Endeavour - Shyah Beattie

MVP - Laura Ring

U17 Boy’s B Team

Most Improved - Ben Joseph

Endeavour - Hamish Faulks

Under 17 Boy’s National’s Team

Most Improved - Lachie Cameron

Endeavour - Cam Forde

MVP - Angus Cameron

Under 17 Girl’s National’s Team

Most Improved - Grace Southby

Endeavour - Ella Gomez

MVP - Annabelle Ring

U19 B Men’s Team

Most Improved - Matt Pyper

Endeavour - Angus Henderson

U19 Men’s National’s Team

Most Improved - Mitchell Hughan

Endeavour - Clarke Aiono

MVP - Michael Ruske

U19 Women’s National’s Team

Most Improved - Annalise Wilson

Endeavour - Dre Whaanga

MVP - Hannah Matehaere

U23 Men’s National’s Team

Endeavour - Jamie MacDonald

MVP - Connor Coll

U23 Women’s National’s Team

Endeavour - Annabelle Ring

MVP - Nicole Ruske

Special Awards

Garland Representative Referee Awards

U19 Nationals - Nathan Buchanan

U17 Nationals - Dillon Mead

U15 Nationals - Angus Henderson

U15 Nationals - Brittney Young

Blues Awards

(Bronze - NZ U14 or NZ Select team, Silver - NZ Age Group team, Gold - NZ National Team)

Bronze - Ryan Dailey (NZ Under 14 Melbourne Tour)

Silver - Tai Porima-Flavell (NZ Under 19 - China Tour)

Silver - Hannah Matehaere (NZ Under 17 - Oceania Championships)

Silver - Olivia O’Neill (NZ Under 19 - Asia Championships)

Gold - Zoe Richards (Tall Ferns - William Jones Cup)

The Torrance Long Service Awards

Five Years - Kathleen Ring

Five Years - Stacy Peita

The David Rout Team of the Year

Under 17 Girl’s National’s Team (finished 4th from 18 at Nationals)

Abby Harris, Anita Samasoni, Annabelle Ring, Brooke Callon, Ella MacKenzie, Ella Gomez, Isabelle Henderson, Libby Briggs, Madi Loudon, Oceana Campbell, Zanthe Herbert, Grace Southby, Bronwyn Kjestrup (HC), Todd Marshall (AC), & Kathleen Ring (manager).

The John Paul Coach of the Year Award

Darcy Knox - U15 Boys (6th place at Nationals from 20)

Darcy has put in copious hours of time over the past three years. This year he has been running academies for boys U13 upwards whilst in part-time employment, and continuing his studies at the University of Otago. Because of Darcy’s commitment and availability to these players his team placed 6th at the U15 Nationals without him coaching; Hammer stepping into that role.  Darcy’s approach has resulted in a level of respect and dedication to him from his boys. We hope this augurs well for them in the future.

The Gary Smyth Services to Basketball Award

Angela Ruske 

Not only has Angela been a player but she’s also a parent of players,a coach, a manager, a former member of the prize-giving committee,and an administrator; most recently being appointed as Chairman of the Board of Basketball Otago in 2018. Angela has worked tirelessly taking on roles, as a volunteer, that only play out behind the scenes. She is our resident, and talented, photographer, adding to her repertoire.We offer our appreciation by presenting this award to Angela, recognising her unconditional support for basketball.

The Under 13 Prizegiving will be after their season finishes.  It will be at the Edgar Centre on the 7th of November from 6.30pm-7.30pm.